Week One “Pole Pole”

Hello intrepid reader, thanks for stopping by. So I have been here almost one week now & there is much to tell..

So the basics first.. I am staying in a self-catering apartment within a missionary compound. My neighbours, who are awesome, include MAF (Mission Aviation Fellowship) pilots & their families as well as an American family here adopting 2 Congolese orphans.

image

It’s really nice, a little bit of sanity away from the loveable craziness of Lubumbashi (from now on I’ll call it L’shi)! I have my own space but I’m also not on my own, with the other families living next door.

So I’m English & I realised we tend to want to just plough straight in & get going, but in hot countries like DRC that’s not how it goes, here we go ‘pole, pole’ (slowly, slowly) and that takes getting used to!

I say pole, pole, but that doesn’t apply to driving, but that’s a story for another blog entry..

One way of slowing down to African pace by the way is to sprain your ankle hoping over a small wall. I did that on day two. Tick !

So having got used to that I have now visited all different sites that make up Kimbilio. There are five. They’ll be a test at the end so pay attention..

There is the day centre, based in the Anglican Cathedral (think less St Paul’s, more bigger version of Emmanuel, Woodley without the wooden floors (apologies if that means nothing)). This is the open door where kids come in off the streets for food, comfort & support. There were 30+ there when I visited.

Next there are two Transit houses. These are small flats where vulnerable children from the day centre can stay for up to 6 months while Kimbilio staff attempt to reintegrate them with their families. Currently 4 in the girls house & 11 in the boys.

Next is Maison Kimbilio, a permanent home for 10 boys currently & in 2 months time they will have finished building the girls home on the same site. The kids here are those whose families are unknown or cannot be found.

And finally there is Jean Bosco’s office next to the Bishops residence (like Lambeth palace, possibly). Jean is the boss, he overseas all of the sites and all of the work Kimbilio does. He’s also been looking after me & showing me around everywhere.

Now, did you get that all?

It’s not been the easiest week ever, with so many adjustments, changes, challenges (I don’t have my own internet currently btw) & culture shocks. But I’m really glad I’m here & just starting to get a feel for life here, the amazing work of Kimbilio & my own role within this.

I really appreciate all your support, it means a lot being all the way out here & knowing people are thinking of me and praying for me, so thank you!

Also, do message me, it’s so great to hear from people!

Some ups and downs from this last week to finish..

I went to a party at a brewery, it was well organised.

Being white here means everyone notices you & will casually shout out of passing cars at you, it’s fun you know.

I upset a lady cleaning the floor in the supermarket, I stepped on her wet floor & she shouted ‘Regarde!'(look!), I said ‘Pole!’ (Sorry), she scowled, I left.

I met a Congolese man called Derrick, he works for Kimbilio. He’s from Rotherham & misses Yorkshire puddings.

More to follow soonish!

Ian

2 thoughts on “Week One “Pole Pole”

  1. Hi Ian. Glad things are mostly going well so far.

    If you want to help Derrick out, you need:

    55g of plain flour (about 3 heaped dessert spoons),
    an egg (warmed up, not straight from the fridge),
    a pinch of salt, and
    about 100ml of milk and/or water.

    Just beat it all together with a fork, or a whisk if you’ve got one. (It’s slightly easier if you start with half the liquid). Get a casserole dish or a roasting tin (about 20cm diameter or equivalent for rectangles), put a couple of tablespoons of oil, lard or butter in the bottom, and heat it at about 180-200 degrees C for a few minutes. Then tip the mixture in, and put it back in the oven for 20-25 minutes. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a comment